Home » CAF Champions League » CAF Champions League final: Zamalek 1-2 Al Ahly
African Footballers & Football news CAF Champions League Football General News Post Match Reactions and Analysis

CAF Champions League final: Zamalek 1-2 Al Ahly

CAF Champions League final: Zamalek 1-2 Al Ahly - Banner advertising service

Egyptian Premier League Champions Al Ahly scores late to to win the 2019/2020 Total CAF Champions League for a record 9th time.

Egyptian champions Al Ahly are champions of African Champions league after defeating their home rivals El Zamalek in a thrilling 2-1 encounter.

For the first time in African Champions League finals history, two teams from the same country face each other.

Al Ahly’s Amr Al Sulaya opened the scoring in the 9th minute before El Zamalek’s Shikabala’s 31st minute equalizer before the break.

READ: CAF CL: PWD Boss reacts to draw against Kaizer Chiefs

Two fantastic goals, one incredible miss, a roller coaster first 45 minutes and a game played with fine spirit with limited controversial decisions that blighted last season’s final between Esperance and Wydad Casablanca. Very little extra the neutral could ask for and a great advertisement for the African game.

Pacheco’s side were on top in the second 45 minutes where energy levels dropped as Zamalek struck the post, and just when it seemed we were drifting towards extra time, Mohamed Afsha struck to fire Al Alhy ahead on the night and towards a historic ninth CAF Champions League win.

Al Ahly will now progress to the delayed FIFA Club World Cup which is now set to be staged in Qatar next February. Bayern Munich and the winners from other confederations (CONMEBOL, AFC etc) await.

A South African coach Pitso Mosimane is the man behind Al Ahly’s master class.

Pitso also helped Al Ahli lift the Egyptian Premier League few last month.

This means that South African manager Pitso Mosimane has bags his second CAF CL win after his 2016 success with Mamelodi Sundowns.

This means that Al Ahly has won the Total CAF Champions league for a record 9th times with the later being in 2013. They therefore have won it three times in the last 10 years (2012, 2013 and 2020) as they emerged runners up in 2017 and 2018

Congratulations to sir Pitso Mosimane for flying the South African flag in Egypt and Congratulations to Al Ahliy and it’s supporters. Good luck next time to runners up El Zamalek.

READ: PWD boss Pagou: ‘The public will see a winning team’ - Banner advertising service

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

Translate »